Certification and continuous supervision


    The certification process for ATS, CNS, AIS, ATFM, ASM level 3 and FPD suppliers provides for the initial issuance and modification of a certificate for air traffic management/air navigation service providers and other network functions.

    The administrative procedure associated with the process is available at AESA’s electronic headquarters: ATM/ANS Supplier Certification

    It is regulated by the following regulations:

    • Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/373 of 1 March 2017 laying down common requirements for providers of air traffic management/air navigation services and other air traffic management network functions and their oversight, repealing Regulation (EC) No 482/2008 and Implementing Regulations (EU) No 1034/2011, (EU) No 1035/2011 and (EU) 2016/1377 and amending Regulation (EU) No 677/2011.
    • Royal Decree 515/2020 of 12 May 2020 regulating the procedure for certification of civil service providers and functions of air traffic management and air navigation and their regulatory control.
    • Regulation (EU) 2018/1139 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 4 July 2018 on common rules in the field of civil aviation and establishing a European Union Aviation Safety Agency and amending Regulations (EC) No 2111/2005, (EC) No 1008/2008, (EU) No 996/2010, (EC) No 376/2014 and Directives 2014/30/EU and 2014/53/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council and repealing Regulations (EC) No 376/2014 552/2004 and (EC) No 216/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council and Council Regulation (EEC) No 3922/91.
    • Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/123 of 24 January 2019 laying down detailed rules for the implementation of air traffic management (ATM) network functions and repealing Regulation (EU) No 677/2011

    EASA has developed Acceptable Means of Compliance and Guidance Material to comply with Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/373. These MCAs and GMs have been included as part of the questionnaires that need to be completed in order to apply for certification or modification of the certificate. For this information, see the following link:


Regulatory control

    AESA is working on the continuous improvement of air transport safety. To this end, it inspects and carries out continuous supervision of certified service providers and air navigation functions required by the European Union’s “Single Sky” regulatory package for air navigation service and function providers, in accordance with Community and other national standards.
    The rules determining the procedure are as follows:



    EASA is the National Supervisory Authority, in accordance with Article 4 of Regulation (EC) No 549/2004 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 10 March 2004 laying down the framework for the creation of the Single European Sky.
    In accordance with Article 4 and Article 5 of Regulation (EU) 2017/373, EASA exercises, inter alia, the supervisory and enforcement functions applicable to service providers, monitoring the safe provision of services by service providers.
    Continuous monitoring actions are included in EASA’s Annual Inspection Plan.
    The certified air navigation services currently being supervised by EASA are as follows:

    • Air Transit Service (ATS).
    • Communications, Navigation and Surveillance Services (CNS).
    • Aeronautical Information Services (AIS).
    • Air Space Management Services (ASM level 3).
    • Air Traffic Flow Management (ATFM) services
    • Flight Procedure Design Services (FPD).


Material Guide

Cannot find what you are looking for?